L’oreal Moist Matte Lipstick in Maple Mocha Review

Hello lovelies! How often have you wanted to get that sophisticated peachy brown wash of colour on your lips that screams off duty model? The colour is just right, not too milky, not too dark and a nice satin finish. Ooh the glamour!

20160120_121324

 

Well, guess what, I think I might have the colour and that lovely finish lipstick for you! Presenting, L’oreal Moist Matte Lipstick in Maple Mocha! I’d hopped on the moist matte train right when the lipsticks had come out and bought myself the colour Orange Power. The finish and colour were divine but it wasn’t very pigmented and this is for someone who has pink lips with no pigmentation whatsoever. I thought all the colours would be less pigmented so I moved on to other lipsticks. Not to forget that the Orange Power one just broke off because these lipsticks are really fragile. So, I thought, the colour and feel is real good but I’m not going to wash down another 900 bucks for a lipstick that breaks off and is not pigmented enough.

A few weeks back, I suddenly found a new love for the Maple Mocha one and I just got it in a whim. I do not regret purchasing this lipstick AT ALL! In fact I’m so glad I gave in to the desire and got myself this beauty. It looks very dark in the bullet and I was apprehensive at first but the actual colour on the lips is a lovely peach brown that is not stark and complements the yellow-olive Indian skin tones beautifully.

20160120_121010

Firstly, the pigmentation of this one is great! Just one swipe gives you lovely peachy brown lips that look very sophisticated. Not seriously professional looking, just easy breezy and posh. On pigmented lips, it’ll take two or three swipes. The colour builds up nicely and doesn’t darken as you build up. Have you noticed if you build up some brown lipsticks they tend to get really dark and streaky? That is not at all a problem with this one.

The lipstick is fragile but I’ve learned to use it because it deposits colour without having to apply any force. If you own a retro matte by MAC you’ll know what I’m talking about because that is one DEAD MATTE finish and sturdy lipstick.

20160120_121431

(Above: Swatched once and swatched three times side by side)

The finish is a lovely moist matte as the name suggests and is great for people who want matte lips but not the dryness that comes with it. One tip would be to apply balm until you finish doing the rest of your makeup, wipe it off and then put this lipstick. Your lips won’t feel chapped at all.

The lipstick does smudge a bit, in fact if you set it with tissue and powder, I don’t think it will move. It does not feather or bleed at all. If you eat, it might move because of the oil in the food but I think that’s it. The best part is, you can apply this lipstick after dabbing your mouth with a tissue after eating and you don’t even need a mirror because it layers so well!

I love everything about this lipstick, the colour, the finish and the staying power! Just be careful not to press it on your lips with force and you’ll be fine! Also, it is such a beautiful colour to wear at work or for formal meetings.

The L’oreal Moist Matte Lipstick retails for INR 899 but is available on Flipkart, amazon and Nykaa for much less!

Until next time, lovelies, stay beautiful! :*

2 thoughts on “L’oreal Moist Matte Lipstick in Maple Mocha Review

Leave a Reply

